Sports Personalities of the Year …WALCOTT, AHYE PREVAIL

Spread the word

The Sports Personalities of the Year 2016 are Keshorn Walcott and Michelle Lee Ahye, both Olympic runners.

Both won their awards on Thursday night when the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC) staged its annual award ceremony at the Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain.

Walcott was Trinidad and Tobago’s lone medalist at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, when he took bronze in the men’s javelin. The Toco-born athlete threw the spear 85.38 metres to earn consecutive medals at the Olympics after claiming gold in London four years ago.

Ahye, although not getting to the podium in Rio, was a finalist in the women’s 100 metres, 200m and 4x100m relay – the first woman from this country to achieve that feat. She also had a stellar year on the international circuit with medals won at the prestigious Diamond League and several sub-11 clockings. Walcott and Ahye were not present to receive their awards.

Cyclist Nicholas Paul rode away with the Junior Sportsman of the Year Award while sprinter Khalifa St Fort captured the Junior Sportswoman of the Year Award.

Other award recipients at the event were double Paralympic gold medalist Akeem Stewart (Sports Personality of the Year), swimmer Dylan Carter (People’s Choice) and administrator Catherine Forde (Alexander B Chapman Award, for achievements and contributions to sport).

unnamed (10)

unnamed (11)


Related Posts

A birthday gift for sprinter …”MICHELLE WINS GOLD”
Revenge killing in Toco …”KESHORN’S COUSIN MURDERED”
20 years after Ato Boldon’s gold … BRONZE FOR JEREEM

Leave a Reply