New Districts For Local Polls

Spread the word

Three municipalities are to have new boundaries in the local government election that is due before the end of the year.

They are Arima Municipal Corporation, with one change, and Tunapuna-Piarco and Debe-Penal regional corporations, with nine and four new districts respectively.

In addition, a new electoral district, called Carapo, will be created in the Tunapuna-Piarco Regional Corporation.

Three districts in that corporation will have new names.

The number of electoral districts in municipal corporations is fixed by law and cannot be changed.

The changes are identified in a new report of the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC).

There are 137 electoral districts in the 14 municipal and regional corporations.

The local government election is constitutionally due before the end of the year.

Both the PNM and UNC are preparing for the polls.

Related Posts

Missing farmer found dead …”DEATH BY SUICIDE?”
Venezuelans held with weapons …”GUNS FOR FOOD”
“Tobago murder suspect arrested”

Leave a Reply