Carlos Braithwaite wins top ICC award

Spread the word

Remember his explosive batting in the final over of the T20 World Cup finals in India in March?
Well, it’s comes as no surprise that Carlos Braithwaite has been rewarded for that achievement.

Now Carlos Brathwaite of the West Indies, has won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award for his match-winning 34 not out off 10 balls in the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 final against England in Kolkata in April.

The innings included four consecutive sixes in the final over, which helped the West Indies snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Reflecting on that innings, Brathwaite said:

“I graciously accept this award. I want to thank God and I also want to say a huge thanks to my family. Special mentions go to Marlon Samuels for a fantastic knock in the finals that got us to the position where we were. I also want to make a special mention of the West Indies’ women’s team and the West Indies’ under-19 team, who together helped cap off an incredible 2016 for West Indies cricket.

“I always dreamt of hitting the final ball of a game for six to win it. Never in my wildest dreams could I imagine hitting four consecutive sixes to win the World Cup (ICC World Twenty20) final for the West Indies.”

Brathwaite is the only West Indies player featured in this year’s ICC Awards.

India’s Ravichandran Ashwin won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016, the third India player to do so. He was also adjudged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, which has made him only the second India player after Dravid (2004) to bag the two coveted prizes in the same year.

Other awardees are:

Quinton de Kock (South Africa) – ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year
Suzie Bates (New Zealand) – ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year & Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year
Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh) – ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year award
Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan) – ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year
Misbah-Ul-Haq (Pakistan) – ICC Spirit of Cricket Award
Marais Erasmus – ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy)​

Image result for carlos brathwaite


Related Posts

National Award for Madeira …”BUT WHAT HAS HE DONE?”
7 murders in last 24 hours …”KILLERS ON THE RAMPAGE”

Leave a Reply